2017 MNA Awards

The 2017 MNA Awards Banquet was held at FireKeepers Casino Hotel in Battle Creek, MI on Friday,October 13. The event featured the first graduating class of the MNA Advocacy Academy, recognized five legislators for their nursing advocacy, and celebrated MNA members for their outstanding leadership.

Advocacy Academy

This year MNA launched its first-ever Advocacy Academy, a 6-month professional development program for nurses from across the state. The nurses built their knowledge and skills in legislative advocacy so they can have a voice on public policy issues such as safe staffing, workplace violence and community health. Over the past 6 months, nurses worked diligently: attending webinars, participating in conference calls, lobbying their legislators in support of the Safe Patient Care Act, and educating lawmakers on nursing issues.

MNA is proud to recognize these graduates of the inaugural Advocacy Academy class:

The nurses received a plaque with a diploma and the Great Seal of the State of Michigan. (L-R) John Armelagos, Darlene Worrell, Jennifer Thomas, Kelly Robertson, Dennis Magiera, Katie Scott, Kathleen Lehman, Pat Kampmann-Bush, Mary Lou Hudson, Carolyn Hietamaki, Alicia Flores, Lori Batzloff, and Becky Baldwin. (Not pictured: Jessica Arkles, Bette O’Connor- Rogers, Heather Roe, and Joyce Stein)


Diversity in Health Care Award
Laura Mason, RN – University of Michigan Professional Nurse Council
Kathy Chardenet, RN – University of Michigan Professional Nurse Council
Desiree Conyers, RN – University of Michigan Professional Nurse Council
Ted McTaggart, RN – University of Michigan Professional Nurse Council
Kris Michaelson, RN – RN Staff Council, Marquette
Margaret Smith, RN – University of Michigan Professional Nurse Council

Outstanding Contribution to MNA Award
Judy Moore, RN – Prof Nurses Assoc of Huron Valley Sinai Hosp

Political Nurse Activist
Sue Nehring, RN – Retired

Labor Leader of the Year Award
Scott Balko, RN – RN Staff Council, Marquette

MNA Friend of Nursing Award

The Friend of Nursing Award is MNA’s highest honor for elected officials. The honorees, chosen by the Board of Directors, are leaders who have taken that extra step to support registered nurses not only in words but also in action. They have helped MNA advance our advocacy for ourselves, our patients and our communities.

This year, in acknowledging our growing bipartisan partnerships and the key role of local allies, MNA leaders determined that multiple individuals are deserving of this coveted honor. The Board therefore took the unusual step of honoring multiple elected officials with the Friend of Nursing Award. They are:

State Rep. Stephanie Chang

State Rep. Aaron Miller

Former State Rep. Ed McBroom

Oakland County Commissioner Dave Woodward

State Rep. John Kivela (posthumous)

  • 2017 MNA Labor Leader of the Year winner Scott Balko, RN, receives his award. Scott is the president of the Upper Peninsula Health System RN Staff Council.