2018 MNA Awards

The 2018 MNA Awards Banquet was held at the Somerset Inn in Troy, MI on Friday,October 5. The event featured the graduating class of the MNA Advocacy Academy, recognized two elected officials for their nursing advocacy, and celebrated MNA members for their outstanding leadership.


Nurse Hero Award

Kelly Sites, RN – Disaster response nurse
Award video

Diversity in Healthcare Award
Anne DeVitto, MS, RD, CSP
Prof Employee Council of Sparrow Hospital
Award video

Outstanding Contribution to MNA Award and
Cheryl L. Johnson, RN Labor Legacy Award

John Armelagos, RN
University of Michigan Prof Nurse Council
Award video

Michigan Nurses Hall of Fame Induction
Becky Baldwin, RN
Retired, MNA Lifetime Member
Award video

Jody Berney, RN
Retired, MNA Lifetime Member
Award video

MNA Friend of Nursing Award

The Friend of Nursing Award is MNA’s highest honor for elected officials. The honorees, chosen by the Board of Directors, are leaders who have taken that extra step to support registered nurses not only in words but also in action. They have helped MNA advance our advocacy for ourselves, our patients and our communities.

Mayor Jim Carruthers, Traverse City
State Sen. Tom Casperson (R-Escanaba)

Advocacy Academy

The MNA Advocacy Academy is a 6-month professional development program for nurses from across the state. The nurses built their knowledge and skills in legislative advocacy so they can have a voice on public policy issues such as safe staffing, workplace violence and community health. Over the past 6 months, nurses worked diligently: attending webinars, participating in conference calls, lobbying their legislators in support of the Safe Patient Care Act, and educating lawmakers on nursing issues.

MNA is proud to recognize these graduates of the 2018 Advocacy Academy class (not all were present):

Lana Bey-Wright, RN, PECSH, Sharon Bryant, RN, Retired, Beth Christensen, RN, UMPNC, Kristin Coble, RN, PECSH, Helen Cook, RN, Borgess Medical Center, Paula Curmi, RN, UMPNC, Jayne Deboer-Rowse, RN, Oakland County Health Division, Mary Sunithi Echols, RN, Associate Member, Emily Epling, RN, PECSH, Sue Hadden, RN, UMPNC, Laura Jirasek, RN, UMPNC, Karen Lenz, RN, UMPNC, Lauren Locke, RN, Associate Member, Eva Lund, RN, PECSH, Kallyn Martus, RN, Associate Member, Deborah Mifsud, RN, UMPNC, Emily Miotke, RN, UMPNC, Vineta Mitchell, RN, Associate Member, Stephanie Patterson, RN, Associate Member, Jack Sicheneder, RN, Associate Member 

To learn more about next year’s Advocacy Academy, contact Jennie Gies, MNA Legislative Program Coordinator, at 517-775-1914.

Click here to view the FaceBook album of the Awards Banquet.